OTF: Where have all the anti-globalization protesters gone?

Yes, it’s Off Topic Friday. So last night I watched the film “Battle in Seattle,” rented from the local Blockbuster, being the corporate stooge that I am. It is, as Leonard Maltin claims on the back of the box, “well worth seeing.” It also confirms my theory that left wing radicals are much hotter than right wing radicals.

[youtubevid id=JbPufXnFOh8&feature=fvw]

It did get me wondering, though: what’s happened to the anti-globalization guys and gals? Perhaps I could figure this out my own, by say, Googling. But I remember Seattle, the protests in 2001 against bombing Afghanistan, the reports of anarchists in Genoa. I covered the anti-Iraq war  demonstrations in ’03, and then covered the massive demonstrations at the 2004 Republican convention in New York City. But, after 2005, the protests dropped off my personal radar. (Which means I was engrossed news-wise in other stuff for a few years.) So where’d they go? Has Obama’s win taken away some of their momentum? Do they like Obama? Any big protests planned anytime soon? The movie reminded me just how much fun covering protests can be, and I’d be happy to go cover one again. So, if you’re an anti-globalization protester and you’re reading this, drop me a note!

About michaelhastings

Journalist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to OTF: Where have all the anti-globalization protesters gone?

  1. Brian In NYC says:

    “It also confirms my theory that left wing radicals are much hotter than right wing radicals.”

    Really? I’m pretty hard pressed to think of an example of a left wing radical blowing someone away as they sit in church in praying, or stand outside a museum doing their job of guarding the place, or driving a bomb into a federal office building and killing 168 people. Sorry Michael, that’s a pretty absurd statement.

  2. Michael Hastings says:

    Absurd, no doubt.

    I’m just saying, as a rule of thumb, if you’re a young activist who wants to meet attractive protesters, you’ll have better luck at a left-wing anti-war rally than at say, a right wing tea party protest. The hippies are always going to be cuter than the Nixonites!

  3. Brian In NYC says:

    Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, not what I thought you meant by “hotter”!

    😆

Leave a Reply

